The Hattery Stove & Still at the Doylestown Inn

I wish I had thought to take more pictures at The Hattery, located in the historic Doylestown Inn. But alas, I was so taken aback by the decor that I spent so much time actually admiring it and commenting on it that I didn’t think to take pictures. So I’ll do my best to describe it.

First of all, the brick walls behind our booth were adorned with aged gold mirrors, which worked out perfectly because I could people watch without even having to turn around! There was no shortage of crystal chandeliers, and some of them were so unique it took me a while to notice just how different they were. One of them was a chandelier made of utensils, and another was upside down wine glasses.

You may be wondering why it’s called The Hattery. I was too, but didn’t think too much of it. Not even when I noticed all the vintage hats hanging above the bar. It wasn’t until my brunch date pointed out that’s why it’s called The Hattery. It all made sense.

So let’s get to the food. I ordered the eggs benedict (obviously) and brunch date got the huevos rancheros. I was a little worried (we had a wedding that night) that what I ordered would be so glutinous that I’d still be full by cocktail hour. However, that wasn’t the case. The portions at this place were PERFECT. They were the size I would make at home, which is hard to find at a restaurant. The best part was that the eggs were poached to perfection. Excuse my abundant use of the word “perfect.” The home fries were served with caramelized onions mixed in, which was a pleasant surprise. The dish was generally very savory, but the bit of sweetness from the onions really offset the plate as a whole.

Brunch partner in crime absolutely loved his huevos rancheros. He said the molé sauce was the best part. They were stacked layers of crunchy tortilla with sunny side up eggs, and according to my date, everything tasted so fresh. And again, the portion was on point. Just enough to fill you up, but not enough to need to be rolled out of the establishment.

IMG_9421

Moving on to the coffee. It was, in a word, delicious. It was rich, dark, and a great accompaniment to the mimosas we also had.

We waited a little bit longer than usual to get our food, but we didn’t mind. We were taking in the atmosphere and enjoying our time together. However, the waitress still apologized and offered us a second round of mimosas on the house. I was absolutely delighted. Nothing makes me happier than superb customer service, especially when I honestly didn’t notice anything was wrong.

Then the bill came, and when I saw how much we owed, I knew that they had comped our whole meal, and only charged us for one round of mimosas. That alone would make me go back to The Hattery.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

