Brown Rice Burrito Bowls

IMG_9365

When the weather is warm, I get the sudden desire to cook, and to cook healthy, nutritious meals. This particular night I was in the mood for something filling, but still light. That led me to burrito bowls. The thing with burrito bowls is that they are so customizable that taking the time to write out a recipe would be almost pointless. So instead, I will just tell you what I used, and you can use the same, or substitute with whatever else you have or like.

The Corn Salsa:

IMG_9356

I just happened to have everything I needed for this, so it was kind of a surprise element of the bowl. I used:

  • frozen corn
  • tomatoes
  • half of a jalapeño
  • white onion
  • salt & pepper
  • drizzle of olive oil

I wanted to keep this really light and fresh so I didn’t weight it down with any spices other than salt and pepper.

Next up, the chipotle mayo:

To make this I literally just mixed chipotle peppers in Adobo, mayonnaise and sour cream until it was the consistency and spice level that I wanted. One thing to keep in mind is that the longer it sits, the spicier it will get. So go a little under-spiced when you first make it, and it will be perfect by the time you serve.

The toppings:

IMG_9361IMG_9362

I sliced up an avocado, wedged some limes, grated some carrots, and presented it on a bamboo cutting board solely for pictures. Pictured is also the corn salsa and chipotle mayo/sour cream.

I used brown rice as the base and shrimp as the protein, but you can use white rice and basically any kind of protein you would want in your burrito. This meal is so “to taste” I almost feel silly posting it, but the pictures are on point, and I feel like this is a simple, quick, and healthy meal that some might not think of.

IMG_9367

The finished product is bright, citrusy, and filling. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

